The Makings of an Ass

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

 

 

Much has been said about the tongue in cheek analysis of the mental disorders of the characters in the Winnie the Pooh books since first proffered in the 2000 edition of the Canadian Medical Association Journal. (http://www.cmaj.ca/content/163/12/1557.full) I won’t go into further here, other than the fact that I felt like Eeyore myself yesterday.

Of course it’s no stretch to compare me to Eeeyore, the sad bastard. I don’t even have to take that stupid quiz that was floating around online.

What I mean is that when I was young and would read the books or watch the show, of all the characters, it was always a downer (obviously) when that goddamn donkey would show up. Sure Tigger is annoying but at least he mixes it up in there. Piglet sucks but is the necessary straight man to Poohs one track foolishness. Rabbit may be neurotic but it’s funny to mess up his overly organized life. What the hell was Eeyore bringing to the table?

I felt like this yesterday at my third (?) last meeting with the best social worker I have ever had. We’ve been seeing each other for over two years and it was the most stable time in my treatment to date. I finally developed a rapport with someone, which is difficult for a perfect asshole like me.

Anyway, here we are on the home stretch of our relationship and I’m carrying on like I was on our first meeting. Just as down, low, and hopeless a heap as when I first shuffled in.

I understand that ‘recovery’ is not a linear path, but this is a little much.

The treatment I have received and attention I was paid was both amazing and humbling. I wish I could be doing better for her. I know I should be saying for me, but I honestly think she’s put in more effort.

It was the first time in my life that I realized that I can in fact be that dark soul sucking vacuum represented by that sad stuffed sack of a donkey. What adventures am I holding up? Am I a mixed sideshow of humor and pity? What exactly is my tail supposed to be?

I’m sure the real answer is that all the goddamn animals represent parts that can be found within us all.  Still, whatever Tigger drinking, pour me a triple.

 

Leave a comment