The Harm in Hope

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Source

I remember once when I was an actual starry eyed idealist. (I believe I still I am, somewhere, under the blackened crust, but I digress.) I mean if someone engaged me at the time I must have been a literal picture of the passionate liberal arts student. (How sickening) One time that encapsulates this for me was when I learned of Max Weber’The Protestant Ethic and the Spirit of Capitalism. 

If you’re looking a summary, you better ask Google, because it’s been some time since I’ve even looked in its direction. However, if my beleaguered memory serves me correctly, Mr. Weber put forth a theory in which he explained the birth of capitalism by creating a fictional character through which the work ethic and mindset necessary for such an economy to bear fruit. I was awestruck by the fact that Weber had the courage to just invent a character in order for his theory to work. The craziest part is that it works, and it is widely accepted that he’s not far off the mark.

Recently I was throwing around a little theory of my own. Now at this point I am fully aware that this is probably not original at all, but I am afraid to Google it and find out just how derivative I am and from what sources.

Anyway, my theory in a nutshell is that the baby boomer generation is complicit in the modern epidemic of mental illness. Most inquiries, as does the linked article, explain away the startling statistics as explainable by phenomena such as over diagnosis, gluttonous big pharma, or lessening stigma. To be sure, these factors and more are contributors. However, I have taken the audacious step of shadowing my sociological superior, Max Weber, and invent a stereotype of a baby boomer.

The concept of the ‘American Dream’ states hard work leads to social mobility and was first put forth in 1931 by historian James Truslow Adams. Now the baby boomer generation began in 1946, so this long accepted ethos, now named fifteen years prior, had time to really take hold in American society. So, the baby boomers were raised in this belief and fortunately for them, the theory did hold some water. Their generation enjoyed it’s formative years in a so called ‘golden age of capitalism.’ Thus they were able to enjoy some moving and shaking and often time, realize their dreams of prosperity and success. By the time of the economic downturn of the 70’s and 80’s, they were already established in their careers and comfortably criticizing and voting from a place of self interest.

The crux of my argument rests in what this ideal baby boomer told his or her children, and that is a message steeped in the beliefs of the American Dream. Of course this generation, Generation X , faced greater hardships than their parents. So, my theory contends that while they were spoon fed promises of dreams come true, they faced a much harsher reality and became disillusioned, apathetic, disconnected, self blaming, and, increasingly, mentally ill.

Everyone wants to have meaning in their lives. I am certainly struggling with this now. My struggle is marked with existential conflicts that could be solved through a discovery of self. This is not to say I need a six figure salary, rather, I need to find my life’s work.

That’s pretty hard in a world where both parents have to work to make ends meet. It is no wonder people wake to rue the day ahead.

Leave a comment